Style Arc Suzies Sister top- 5th piece of my Summer 6PAC

I’m still on a Style Arc roll, they are producing some wonderful designs, and they seem to need minimal alteration for me.

Feminine top with tucks and flattering neckline with a short or long sleeve option

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love buttoned blouses and this collarless number looked very appealing. The front looks like it has a v neck but the facing is in fact straight. The pleats at the shoulder pull it into a v shape, so it is very simple to make. The  front facing is sewn to the back facing, then just press to the inside. No placket, just make button holes and you’re done. The sleeves are even sewn in flat so no tedious setting in. It took an afternoon to make. The only thing you should be careful about is making sure the pleats are even.

I chose an offwhite dobby cotton from Ditto Fabrics ( that shop gets a lot of business from me- I wish I lived nearer, I’d be in there all the time). It is slightly crinkly and soft, so my slightly less than perfect pleats don’t show.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

The sleeves are finished with a self bias binding just like a neck binding. It’s very comfortable to wear, and the v neck is just the right depth for me. I made the buttonholes a little too far in so the facing does not lie totally flat. I’ll change that next time, and there will be one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

I added a little extra width, but I think the back needs a bit more and maybe slightly less in the tucks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I will definitely try out the long sleeve version for Autumn and probably make a sleeveless one as well. A viscose challis or anything soft and drapey would be good.

This is a great partner for my pink trousers and skirt!

 

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in 6 PAC Wardrobe, Pattern Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Style Arc Suzies Sister top- 5th piece of my Summer 6PAC

  1. Linda L says:

    Pretty blouse. You are doing great with Style Arc patterns. I am still trying to figure out my best size.

  2. Amy says:

    So pretty! Great pairing of fabric and pattern

Leave a Reply

