Style Arc Maggie Shirt- part of a Casual Summer 6PAC

I’ve just realised I haven’t blogged for nearly a month, but have been very busy sewing. I spent May making my Smart Summer 6PAC but had also planned a Casual 6PAC. This was to be in pink, silver grey, and off white. I planned a jean jacket in silver grey, trousers and skirt in pink drill, and tops in off white and a print. The trousers and skirt were patterns I have made before, so there was nothing new to say about them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Here are my TNT Burda 7447 trousers in a shot pink drill from Ditto Fabrics. I’m also wearing a white cotton jersey Sammi cami from Iconic patterns underneath a Megan Nielsen Briar top in a offwhite loose knit. I count the tops as one piece as you can’t wear the Briar top without something underneath unless you are 18!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI made a skirt from the same pink drill using Burdastyle 06-2013-113. This drill looks lovely but needs ironing to death. I prewashed it twice before it would allow me to press it it enough to cut it out. I have to iron them after every wear, but it hasn’t stopped me wearing them constantly since I finished them. I really like the colour, it’s so summery and goes with lots of my tops.

So that’s three pieces of my 6PAC. Now to piece 4.

Sophisticate shirt with “Magyar” sleeve

I chose the Style Arc Maggie as a loose overshirt. I bought a size 8 and didn’t add any width to the bottom as I would normally need. It seemed to be quite loose enough. I had some trouble with the front placket and pleat and it is not finished on the inside as I would like. Style ARC don’t have copious instructions so I didn’t over lock the slash before I sewed it. There are diagrams to to help with the placket and pleat but it does need careful study before it becomes clear.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI bought some viscose print fabric in Leeds Market when I visited in June.It cost £4/metre and I have seen it online for £21!  Of course it slides about when you cut and sew it. I’m not sure this really suits me as it is hiding my waistline which is one of my better features. I think I can see draglines from the bust so maybe it needs an FBA and that would make it hang better?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe back is fine in terms of width. I think this will be a favourite in warm weather, and I can wear it tucked in with a skirt. I might try a belt as well. This pattern would work well in a voile as that would drape nicely. Anything even slightly stiff  such as a thicker lawn would stand out like a tent!

I’ll post about the last two pieces as soon as I can get decent photos.

 

 

 

 

 

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in 6 PAC Wardrobe, Pattern Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Style Arc Maggie Shirt- part of a Casual Summer 6PAC

  1. SewingElle says:

    You look so summery, in a soft English way. Lovely outfits.

  2. Linda says:

    Lovely outfits, very summery! Love the colour of your jeans and skirt:)

  3. prttynpnk says:

    Ive got the Maggie and you’ve really inspired me with yours!

Leave a Reply

