Style Arc Sandra Jeans

Style Arc have a very sneaky business strategy, they offer a free pattern every month and I am finding this irresistible. My stash of their patterns is building up as the most economical way of buying their patterns is to get three or four at a time.This is the best pattern to postage ratio. I have made three tops so far, one a failure ( Sunny), one a success (Lolita), and one muslin (Rosy-unblogged) needs an FBA. I like the look of the Sandra jeans so that is my next trial.

SANDRA-JEANS

I wanted a slim leg jean but not super skinny. I made a muslin of course, I just cannot make a new trouser pattern without one. I bought a size 14, and removed the usual 6″ from the waistline, mostly from the CB seam, scooped a little from the back crotch, and added 1″ to the leg width from the downwards. Apart from that all seemed well, so I went ahead and cut out my light grey needlecord. I cut a 1″ SA on the leg seams just in case the fabric behaved differently from my muslin.

I found the instructions brief but as I have made jeans before I was able to follow them, but my coin pocket has ended up on my left side, not the right as the illustration shows. I have never made a sew on fly before but the instructions and diagrams were clear enough, and it turned out fine. They do not tell you to neaten any seams, that is left to you, and I have missed overlocking one part of the fly.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a blue flowery cotton for the pockets and inner waistband.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I think this is a pretty good fit, maybe a tiny tweak to the front crotch in the next pair. I didn’t bother with topstitching the inseam, it doesn’t really show up on needlecord.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Maybe a touch less width on the upper thigh, but I do have to be able to move. This is as about as good a back view as I am likely to have, given my shape, and I will probably wear my tops untucked any way. I don’t ornament my pockets, as I don’t want people to look there. The length was just right for, I didn’t cut any length off. I am 5’5″ tall, so anyone who is significantly taller would need to add length.

The waistband is one long curved piece, and I was not sure if I could get it to fit me. However I just folded out the excess at the CB and cut it out. It worked fine, and I liked the idea of attaching the inner waistband before sewing onto the jeans. I didn’t do it this time as I wanted to make sure of the fit at the back.

These are a success, I have worn them several times and they are comfortable even though they are non stretch fabric. I will definitely make these again.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Pattern Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Style Arc Sandra Jeans

  1. BeaJay says:

    Yes I find it very hard to resist the freebie too. Great jeans with a lovely fit.

  2. NewRibena says:

    You did a really great job on those pants…impressive.

Leave a Reply

