Kitschy Coo Lady Skater Dress- Fit to dine with a Royal Countess

Luton Hoo Hotel

Luton Hoo Hotel

Every year my branch of the Women’s Institute’s committee have a dinner out. This year we chose Luton Hoo Hotel, former home of the Lady Zia Wernher, born a Russian royal countess. Lest you think we are bankrupting the WI, we save up all year, putting money into the kitty at every committee meeting.

Wernher Restaurant

Wernher Restaurant

So a grand setting deserves a new dress doesn’t it?

??????????????????????

I thought the Lady Skater would fit the bill nicely, with room for dinner catered for. I had bought a nice long piece of black and white jersey from ebay recently, but when I spread it out the pattern worried me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I couldn’t see how to place the front pieces without unfortunate results, to put it delicately! I decided to cut the skirt in four pieces to make the pattern appear much more random, and cut each one individually avoiding the central motif. The other change I made was to the back skirt pieces. My first lady skater has a tendency to ride up at the back which tells me my bum needs more fabric. I did a large bottom adjustment by slashing and spreading the pattern piece in the appropriate area. I added about an 1″ in the CB seam tapering to nothing at the side seam. Making a CB seam makes this much easier, as I didn’t have straighten the seam.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Perfectly level hem!

I don’t have to keep tugging at the skirt on this version, and my slip stays hidden.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m very pleased with the way this has turned out, it’s much nicer than if I had lined up the central motif. My fellow committee members liked it as well!

If you’re interested, the meal cost about £60 each for three courses, wine, and coffee; canapes, amuse bouches, and sorbet thrown in as well. The waiters are so polite and make everyone feel special. I’m not even sorry for the couple who drove up in a chauffeur driven Bentley, while we were getting out of the community minibus! We rather spoilt their grand entrance, as the Concierge was taking a group photo for us under the portico shown on the top picture.

They also do a very nice Afternoon Tea, I had that last year as birthday treat from my DS. Of course you can also stay there, or have your wedding reception, but it’ll cost a fortune.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Pattern Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kitschy Coo Lady Skater Dress- Fit to dine with a Royal Countess

  1. linda walton says:

    this is a lovely dress and well done on the fabric cutting.
    linda in Australia.

  2. SewingElle says:

    Great dress. You look very elegant! Cutting up the skirt was a very clever way to deal with those motifs.

  3. BeaJay says:

    Your dress is lovely and what a beautiful setting to show it off.

  4. becki says:

    Gorgeous! I love that fabric, I want that fabric. Great job, that is really flattering

  5. prttynpnk says:

    Lovely and so flattering!

  6. Beverly Meadows says:

    Very flattering on you and pretty fabric!

Leave a Reply

