Tilly Coco Top

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI love this top, it has a 60’s feel to it! When I saw Tilly’s pattern I wasn’t sure it was for me, the dress was rather too like those I wore in my teens. I don’t think you should revisit your past, it can be a mistake. I never liked the blue eyeshadow  and frosted pink lipstick look so there’s none of that here. I did have a minidress way back then in purple with yellow pockets (remember Good Vibrations anyone?).

The top version appealed to me much more, so I cut the body from some thick dogtooth jersey, and the collar, cuffs, and pockets from  heavy textured black jersey. I thought the boat neck was a little wide for me so I brought it in by 1/2″ each side. I also added cuffs to the long sleeve version.

I cut a size 3 and. according to the measurements, graded to a 5 at the hip. However this made the sides slits stick out rather than lying smoothly. I took them in and probably ended up back at size 3.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe side slits lie nicely now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAQuite a nice back view ,not too much pooling going on!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThey also look good with my cream jeans. This top is very comfortable to wear.

I think I’ll make some more of these, it would be cosy out of sweatshirt fabric;ponte would also be a good choice. It’s great to have variety in my cool weather coverups.

 

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Pattern Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tilly Coco Top

  1. SewingElle says:

    I really like your top. I’ve been ‘meh’ about the other versions in blogland, but now, after seeing yours, I think I might need to get this pattern!

Leave a Reply

