Winter 6PAC 2013/4 Burdastyle 06-2013-121 A-line Skirt

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI started this back in November before my fall, and I’ve now managed to finish it. It’s a nice A-line skirt.06-2013-121 skirtAs Burdastyle drafted it, it has lots of topstitching , back welt pockets and belt loops. I wanted to make it in black corduroy so could not face the welts. I ditched most of the topstitching, so then it seemed pointless to have a centre front seam. I didn’t fancy making corduroy belt loops either.

So a much plainer skirt then. I cut a 42 at the waist grading to 44 at the hip as usual. I was really surprised when I basted it together and tried it on for fit. Mega gaposis! I had to add back darts; but now it’s a great fit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Terrible pics I’m afraid, black in midwinter daylight. Also I find it hard to tuck in my shirt with my wonky hand!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI used black pocketing for the waistband facing to reduce bulk. I’m proud of my lining insertion, and the invisible zip really is, you can’t see it on the photo I took! The instruction have you take the zip up to the top of the waistband, but that seems unnecessary on one this narrow.

I will make this again in the summer with all the topstitching , but probably not the welt pockets.

 

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter 6PAC 2013/4 Burdastyle 06-2013-121 A-line Skirt

  1. SewingElle says:

    I like this pattern and the skirt looks good on you. Thanks for reminding me about it!

  2. Audrey says:

    This is a nice skirt and a versatile piece in your 6 pack. I overlooked this pattern, but after seeing yours, I may have to make a skirt from it too.

Leave a Reply

