Top 5 Hits and Misses 2013

Looking back, I have had a productive year starting 55 projects  and only failing to finish 2. Of course there would have been a few more if December hadn’t been wiped out by my fall. I still have an almost completely useless left hand, but now my doctor has given me a good set of pain medications I feel ready to start a little sewing if I can manage it.

Anyway it’s time to reflect on what  I achieved this year.

HITS.

1. This must be the Sewaholic Renfrew. I have made 5 different versions which have all been worn constantly.

Kelly Skirt and Renfrew wool sweater

Kelly Skirt and Renfrew wool sweater

I think this is my favourite version in Turquoise wool, it’s so cosy and shows no sign of pilling.

2. 6PACs

What a fantastic concept! I completed Spring ,Summer and Autumn 6PACs; almost all the garments worked, and they all fitted into my existing wardrobe palettes. It really makes you think about what you are making and leaves far fewer orphans.

3. Wedding outfit.

Marfy 3058 skirt and Marfy 3057 jacket

Marfy 3058 skirt and Marfy 3057 jacket

Katie and MeIt was worth the hours spent, the sweat and tears and curses. I learnt more about sewing silk than I realised, and would go about making the skirt completely differently were I to do it again. The only regret is I have worn them once, and probably never again.

4.

Burda 7130 coat and Sew2Pro Hat

Burda 7130 coat and Sew2Pro Hat

Burda 7130 made  a lovely winter coat, which was much needed in the coldest winter for ages. I can’t wear it at the moment, I don’t want to damage it with the velcro of my arm sling.

5. Lady Skater Dress

Lady Skater Dress

Lady Skater Dress

A nice simple jersey dress, it didn’t need any fiddling about to make it fit. I made two and will definitely make more next year.

MISSES

Burdastyle 3-2013-135 pic

Burdastyle 3-2013-135

I really wanted to have a moto jacket, but this one defeated me. A failure to understand a half collar stand and unsuitable fabric led to this being uncompleted.

2. Megan Neilsen Briar Top

I had some silk cable knit jersey,and wanted to make a high/low top. Total failure ensued. All was going well until I got to the neck binding. I tried both the suggested methods and also bought some stretch bias binding and tried that. Nothing gave an acceptable result, the neckline waved all over the place, project binned. The fabric was just too unstable.

I like the pattern,and will try again with some linen jersey for a sheer summer overtop.

3. Sewaholic Cordova Jacket

Sewaholic Cordova Jacket

Sewaholic Cordova Jacket

The colour is is wrong for me, pastels next to my face drain my skin colour.  The neckline is too high, that sort of close fit doesn’t flatter me . Finally, I don’t like the pleated  sleeve caps, they seem to be overwhelming me. I had suggestions of wearing it with stronger coloured scarves, but this was supposed to be a summer jacket. I wore this once, and will be sending it to the charity shop.

4.Sewaholic Minoru Waterproof Jacket

Not so much of a miss as a failure to start. I have the fabric and lining, but somehow can always find something else I want to sew instead. I think I’ll avoid the Spring 6PAC ,and catch up some other things I need; i.e a new dressing gown and new blue jeans and maybe the waterproof jacket?

I can’t think of another miss this year, so that’s not bad.

Now for 2014, in which I am planning to take part in sewalongs such as Anne of Pretty Grievance’s Jungle January and A Challenging Sew’s Marfy Free Pattern Sewalong. I want to make a proper couture french jacket and I bought this book recently to help me.

I did my first sewing for a month today! I just sewed two darts and took in part of two side seams, and fused some interfacing to the waistband. It’s a start; my hand and arm got tired after 1/2 hour, but at least I’m making progress. I’ve been so bored recently, there are only so many hours even I can spend reading.

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL! I hope you and your families prosper in 2014.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top 5 Hits and Misses 2013

  1. becki chitwood says:

    Your hits sure are standouts! Nice array of big, complicated and simple TNT projects, its a good balance. I have a stack of supplies waiting for the motivation on that Minouru jacket too, everyone seems to really love it. Someday…

  2. Chris says:

    Good job on your sewing last year! The most complicated thing I was able to accomplish was a lightweight Minoru jacket – thanks to the Sewaholic sew-along. I love it and want to do another one soon. Glad your hand is healing up.
    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

