Last pieces of the year

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI haven’t posted for a while, and although I need no excuse, I have an excellent reason. Three weeks ago I fell down my stairs and dislocated my left shoulder. I also damaged nerves to my wrist and hand so cannot use it. I should mention I am left handed so am even more incapacitated. There will be no more sewing for a while until I have less pain, and more mobility.

I have two items left to blog and then there will be not much to say.

M,y daughter gave me a length of Liberty Tana lawn for my birthday and when I received the Burdastyle November magazine I decided to use it on the  #103 gathered neck blouse. It has darted raglan sleeves but no body shaping. I cut a neckband piece of the suggested length but when I tried it around my neck it was strangling me! I cut another piece 1 1/2″ longer which is more comfortable. I never thought I had a particularly large neck so this pattern is rather ungenerous.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt is a lovely ditsy pattern, and when I can get the blouse on I will enjoy wearing it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFor my November dress of the month I chose a magenta ponte roma. I decided to make another Lady Skater dress but wanted a cowl neck. I used my Sewaholic Renfrew pattern, and I modified the neckline of the Lady Skater to match it. Because the ponte has very little stretch I decided to make a size larger and this worked out fine. I also added 4 inches to the skirt length. Again this should be a useful winter dress, but I can’t wear it yet.

I’ll try and do a round up post for the year end, but one handed typing is pretty tiring.

 

 

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in 6 PAC Wardrobe, Pattern Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last pieces of the year

  1. SewingElle says:

    Oh your poor thing. Fingers crossed for a fast recovery! The blouse looks great. Others have noted its strangulation capability, so I will be cautious when I make mine… Something in the future…

  2. Barbara J says:

    So sorry to hear about your injury. As a fellow lefty, I feel that we are a little more ambidextrous than most right handed people as we are often forced to use that right hand whether we want to or not. Still, losing your dominant hand is tough. Love the changes you made to the Lady Skater. The color is beautiful

  3. Chris says:

    Very Nice Garments…
    Take care of yourself & heal up quick!

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May 2014 Wrap-Up | The Geeky Seamstress

Leave a Reply

