Winter 6PAC 2013/4 – A blouse and sweater

Burdastyle 05-2012-104 shirt

Burdastyle 05-2012-104 shirt

No sooner has the Autumn 6PAC been completed than the stern taskmistress at Stitchers Guild orders us into battle again. Similar rules as before, but with the emphasis on layers to keep out the cold.

Unfortunately my new computer has developed a faulty keyboard, so I am having to use this older one, and I am unable to create a moodboard on it. So here is a simple list of my items for Winter 6PAC.

  • 1. A black topcoat.
  • 2. Black and cream dogtooth jersey cardigan.
  • 3. Fuchsia soft jersey sweater.
  • 4. Cream brushed cotton shirt.
  • 5. Raspberry Liberty print blouse.
  • 6. Grey wool trousers.
  • 7. Black corduroy skirt.

Of course this is actually 7 pieces, but I’m not worried. I have the fabric for everything apart from the coat, so this will be whittling away at the stash and will all be within my favoured colour palette.

I started with item 4, a brushed cotton shirt. I have made up burdastyle 05-2012-104 before, and find it is a comfortable wearable piece. I chose not to make concealed button holes this time, as the shirt is so plain, the buttons are a feature. I had some square shell buttons in my tin, and they look very good on it. Confidentially, I thought I had 10 buttons which was the right number, but I couldn’t find the last one when I came to sew them on. I have one empty space at the bottom at the moment. If I can’t find the elusive one, I will sew on an ordinary one. I don’t think I would wear this one untucked anyway.

This shirt will be worn endlessly, the colour goes with everything.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tamanegi-Kobo Edelweiss Sweater

Moving on to item 3, the fuchsia sweater. I chose a Tamanegi-Kobo pattern for this. I like their designs for tops, I don’t think I would try their trousers, as I’m sure Japanese ladies have very different rear ends to me. Anyway, this is one of their new patterns named Edelweiss, it’s not that dissimilar to the Sewaholic Renfrew, but is drafted to be a sweater with plenty of ease for underneath layers. I made a size 40, but added a good three inches to the hem width. The fabric is a soft fine sweater knit, probably polyester, which feels really snuggly.

I was a little surprised to find when I downloaded the pattern, that the neckline was faced, not a neckline band. As I can’t read Japanese I had rely on the pictures and the poetry of Google translate. It can’t cope with French sewing terms, what chance has it on Japanese? It was easy to follow the instructions from the really excellent pictures, together with measurements in roman numerals.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt shows what to do with every seam, and little iron symbols help with pressing. The cuff seams are trimmed half way along the width, this allows them to lie flat when the cuffs are folded in half. It gave a really nice finish, one which I will use on other tops.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis page shows how to make and attach the facing, and I was fairly pleased with how it turned out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI need more practice with topstitching to achieve a perfectly centred Vee. I have already worn this sweater several times; it will be a favourite piece, and I will make this again I’m sure.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in 6 PAC Wardrobe, Pattern Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter 6PAC 2013/4 – A blouse and sweater

  1. BeaJay says:

    Another gorgeous outfit. Love the colour of the sweater. Lovely. I struggle with V’s too. Yours looks good to me.

  2. Sarah says:

    These both look great with the a-line skirt and boots. I need to get sewing on some more a-line skirts!

  3. anne jewell says:

    your 7-pac will be so useful!–anne

Leave a Reply

