Autumn 6PAC- Marfy 2933 Jacket and 2934 Skirt

Marfy 2933 jacket, 2934 skirt and Sewaholic Alma blouse

Marfy 2933 jacket, 2934 skirt and Sewaholic Alma blouse

These are the last two pieces of my Autumn 6PAC, a Marfy suit. These patterns were free with the 2012/3 catalogue, so they are multisized unlike the usual Marfy pattern. I cut a size 42 jacket grading out at the hem to about a 44, and cut a size 46 grading to 48( and a bit) for the skirt.

I made a muslin for the jacket and after all my tweaking, ended up with exactly the same changes as my wedding outfit. Next time I’ll start  there! They were, 3/4″ FBA, 3/4″swayback and 1/2″ from the upper chest tapering to nothing at the armhole. I made bound buttonholes which I am quite pleased with. I used fusible interfacing instead of hair canvas and padstitch to tailor the lapels and collar. I still taped the roll line of the lapels and added some fusible hair canvas to add shape to the collar. I also made a backstay from calico and added fusible hair canvas chest pieces. This  has given a lot of shape and stability to the jacket.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI lined it with burgundy acetate lining and added silver satin piping to the edge.

The hardest part of the skirt was the lower back pleats. I had to fold up the pattern piece to understand exactly how it went.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI think I will take in the side seams a little, but otherwise it fits just fine. I had only bought 2.5m of fabric so was unable to put the decorative tabs above the pleats that are shown on the pattern picture. (Sorry I can’t show you this as my scanner is out of action). The pleat section took more fabric than I had anticipated. I also made the skirt an inch shorter than the pattern.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere it is with buttons done up. It needs a scarf to soften it I think, or a brooch. I didn’t add buttons to the pockets as mine have shanks to them, and would have needed buttonholes made to look correct.

I may not wear this as a suit very often, but I will definitely wear the jacket with black or grey trousers or skirt, and the skirt with neutral tops. I’m pleased with the way this has turned out; I do enjoy tailoring! This is a very useful 6PAC, I will wear all the items I’m sure.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in 6 PAC Wardrobe, Pattern Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Autumn 6PAC- Marfy 2933 Jacket and 2934 Skirt

  1. Wonderful! I love the jacket! Very nice job! You look great!

  2. becki says:

    Good job with the fit! That looks great for a free pattern. The collar is really pretty. The fit and the sleeve length are both perfect!
    That is just WOW!

  3. BeaJay says:

    Gorgeous outfit. Love the colour – great pleats. Very nice indeed.

  4. Pella says:

    Perfect construction! The colour is gorgeous too.

  5. SewingElle says:

    This is a smart outfit and beautifully fitted and made. I love the ‘missoni’ top underneath too.

  6. anne jewell says:

    you’ve got it “goin’ on”, girl!–anne

  7. Tia Dia says:

    I just found your blog via SG’s thread on Marfy patterns. I love the skirt details in this ensemble. What a smart suit.

Leave a Reply

