Autumn 2013 6PAC- Black Alpaca Cardigan Drops 134-2

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhen I planned my Autumn 6PAC I was going to make a black cardigan from wool jersey, but I was unable to locate any fine enough. Instead I trawled through Ravelry and found a 4 ply Drops pattern. It is knitted on circular needles to the yoke, when the sleeves which are knitted on DPNs are joined in. The yoke is then knitted and the only seams are two short ones under the arms. I like knitting projects with no seams!

Drops 134-2The details of the pattern are clearer on this photo, where you can see the pattern of the body and yoke. The only change I made is to add another pattern repeat at the neck to make the neckline a bit higher. I used Drops Baby Alpaca Silk yarn and it feels wonderfully warm and soft.

I think this will be a favourite piece in my winter wardrobe, everyone needs a black cardigan don’t they? Sorry I can’t get a better photo, but there is little in the way of daylight at the moment, and I’m not standing outside in the rain.

I’ve finished my Marfy  jacket and skirt and as soon as I can get some light to photograph them I’ll blog about those.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in 6 PAC Wardrobe, Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumn 2013 6PAC- Black Alpaca Cardigan Drops 134-2

  1. Chris says:

    Beautiful! So jealous that you know how to knit a gorgeous sweater like that… (I just crocheted a cowl, bu don’t like it, so I will be taking it apart & re-making it into a long scarf.)

  2. Becki-c says:

    Oh, that looks stunning, and so cozy! MMmmm, alpaca, I bet it sure is soft

Leave a Reply

