October’s Dress of the Month-Lady Skater

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Earlier this month I was thinking , why do I wear dresses so seldom? Answer, you almost never make any, ninny! So, I took a vow to make a dress a month for a year, starting now.

So, a dress a month? Easy if you make a simple jersey one. I liked the Lady Skater Dresses I’ve seen so it was my choice for October. I bought 3 metres of a cotton jersey and it took almost all of the length as I wanted to make the pattern match up exactly. Cutting it out took quite some time but I was pleased with how it turned out.

The instructions were straightforward but I could not work out how they wanted you to  attach the neckband. You are instructed to sew one shoulder seam, then fold the neckband and press it, then place a pin in the middle and pin that to the centre front. That leaves one half of the band to cover the entire back and half the front and the other half to cover only half the front?? I read it again, looked on pattern review to see if anyone else had commented, then gave up. I sewed up the other shoulder seam, sewed the band to together then attached it using the pin it in quarters method. It was exactly the right length.  I don’t understand it,but never mind.

At least the rest of the instructions made sense, attach the bodice to the skirt, sew in the sleeves, then sew the side seams. I added 2 inches to the length to cover my knees. The dress grew in length at the sides, and I had to take off about 2 inches at the sides tapering to nothing at the front and back. I’m using a thinnish stretchy jersey and I think the dress will have to be folded up and kept on the shelf rather than hanging up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’ve worn this twice already, and it is very comfortable. I will definitely make it again, possibly in a ponte roma for warmth. The long sleeves are just the right length to cover my wrists which get very cold in the winter.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Pattern Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to October’s Dress of the Month-Lady Skater

  1. SewingElle says:

    This is a very flattering style. Great pattern placement and matching. Those neckband instructions have me scratching my head too.

  2. Sarah says:

    Wow, that’s a great dress and I love the fabric. I’ve made the Lady Skater as a peplum top and want to do the dress soon. For the neck band I think you need to match the centre of the band to a notch on the side of the front neck edge. It does work if you do that!

  3. Chris says:

    Love that dress on you – it looks comfortable.
    I never wear dresses and very rarely skirts. I’m just more comfortable in pants. A little lazy, I guess. :-)

  4. anne jewell says:

    love this!–anne

Leave a Reply

