Autumn 6PAC- Ruched front top

Ruched front topThe third piece of the Autumn 6 PAC is a viscose jersey ruched front top. I saw one in the Artigiano collection and wanted to see if I could recreate it.

I used my Sewaholic Renfrew pattern as a base, and proceeded as follows.

1. Trace out the font piece and square off the neckline ( I used the scoop variant).

2. Draw a line straight down from the shoulder to the hem passing through the edge of the squared off neck line.

3. Cut one complete front on the fold.

4. Cut a side front piece from the side to the straight line ( add a seam allowance at the straight edge.

5. Cut a centre panel twice the length of the front from neck to hem and twice  the width from line to centre front plus seam allowance.

6. Gather the centre panel as evenly on both sides as possible. Sew to the side fronts.

7. Sew the two fronts together at the neckline, wrong sides together, clip the corners, turn and press.

8. Cut a strip for the back neck and bind it before sewing the rest of the top as usual.

I think this has turned out very like it’s inspiration top. Artigiano  It is also a lot cheaper! The only thing I would do differently is to make the neckline a bit higher, I didn’t take into account the width of the neckline binding piece when I drew the square neck pattern.

I’ve also finished the jacket, so will be trying to take photos if/when the light improves.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in 6 PAC Wardrobe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumn 6PAC- Ruched front top

  1. SewingElle says:

    I like it a lot! Good idea to make it double layered too. The draping looks great.

  2. anne jewell says:

    fabulous!–anne

Leave a Reply

