Spring 2013- 6PAC – progress so far

I haven’t posted much lately, partly because I have been sewing for other people and have almost no pictures to show, and partly because I’ve been huddled in my cave waiting for spring!  Anyway I decided to properly participate in the Stitchers Guild 6PAC this season.

Spring 2013 6PACThis season the idea is to make a top, bottom and jacket or cardigan in a neutral, a top and bottom in a colour and a top in a linking print.
My plan was to make some slim leg ankle length trousers in black, with a black top, a skirt and top in dark red and a jacket in black tweedy jersey, with a linking blouse in red and black.

So far I have made the top and trousers in black and a top in maroon.

Burda 7447 trousers and Burdastyle 2-2013-127 top

Burda 7447 trousers and Burdastyle 2-2013-127 top

I loved this Burdastyle top with ruched sleeves when I got my copy of the February magazine. My version differs in that I remembered to wear my undies and it’s in viscose not silk jersey. I shall be making further ones, maybe in contrast sleeves like some other sewists.

Burda 7447 trousers and Maria Denmark Day to Night top

Burda 7447 trousers and Maria Denmark Day to Night top

I added elbow sleeves to the Maria Denmark Day to Night top as that was all I could squeeze out of the fabric I had left after making my daughter a top.( See projects 2013 page for a picture). It’s a nice easy top, simple to make and the cowl is not revealing.

I went back to the Burda 7447 trouser pattern again and morphed my Butterick 5760 leg and bottom fitting onto it. I slimmed the legs down as far as I dared so I could wear them ankle length. I think they turned out quite well although the back view is not quite as good as I could wish. I made them from a non stretch black chino cotton, so I can’t get them any slimmer fitting if I want to sit down.

Burda 7447 back view

I was pleased with the welt pockets, they came out well!

Burda 7447 welt pocket

Of course, I have already changed my mind about some of the other items, so I’ll keep you posted. Now if the weather will relent soon I’ll be able to wear these in Spring!

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in 6 PAC Wardrobe, Pattern Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring 2013- 6PAC – progress so far

  1. I also love this top (even though I am going to have to grade up to my size) but you really made me laugh with the ‘undies’ reference in your post! If I ever stop shuffling my stash I will join in with the Spring 6PAC too. :)

  2. SewingElle says:

    Very nice! Good for you to sticking to a 6PAC. Good fit on those trousers.

  3. CherryPix says:

    Great looking makes. I like your 6PAC colours.

Leave a Reply

