Kelly Skirt in corduroy

Kelly Skirt and Renfrew wool sweater

Kelly Skirt and Renfrew wool sweater

I started the New Year determined to make up the corduroy and wool jersey I bought in October; also I wanted to try out the Megan Neilsen pattern I bought. Here I am dressed for a snowy January day indoors! Is this really the eighth Renfrew? Anyway, it is warm and comfy and looks lovely. I adore turquoise, and there are bluey streaks in the corduroy so it goes very well with the skirt. It takes me about 3 hours to make a Renfrew cowl top from cutting out to finishing the cuffs and waistband. I made these cuffs a bit snugger by sewing a wider seam ( I have very narrow wrists).

Kelly skirt

I reluctantly removed the sweater to show off the Kelly skirt waistband. I like this skirt a lot, and will definitely make it again. It was a bit of a shock to my vanity the system to have to cut a Large to fit my hips but no one will know if I don’t tell them. The illustration appears to show a very mini skirt but maybe her model is about 6 ft tall? I added an extra 3 inches to the length to cover my knees but I could have got away with the original length in a summer skirt.

It’s a very simple shape, basically 3 rectangles of fabric and pockets. There are pleats at front and back which can’t really be seen on this photo.I needed the waistband in the medium size, so just made the pleats a little deeper to remove the excess width.

Kelly skirt back view

It’s a nice shape even on me.

Kelly skirt closeup

I’m sorry about the light but this was the best I could do to show the details of the front button band. I added an extra button and reduced the spacing slightly. I also added a lining.

Kelly skirt liningI made up the lining, then attached it at the waistband, and hand sewed it down the button band. You can’t see my deliberate mistake, but I cut out the fronts and then realised I should have made a new pattern piece to cover the pocket area. I cut out a shape in fabric and then sewed it to the front to cover up the gap!

This is my first Megan Neilsen pattern; the instructions were very clear and the pattern was on nice thick paper. I might try the Banksia blouse in the summer.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Pattern Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kelly Skirt in corduroy

  1. Pella says:

    A nice shape, just the right amount of flare.

  2. sophie o. says:

    It looks great on you! And it must be so comfy in corduroy – I love corduroy skirts.

  3. Audrey says:

    The skirt is such a pretty print and a very flattering style for you. I had to smile when I saw your footwear. I know your feet are toasty warm. i wear fleece lined slippers all winter when I am at home. Can’t beat them for warmth and comfort.

  4. ailsa-g says:

    Love your skirt! I love the cord fabric as well. I also have made a lot of Renfrew tops – all with the cowl neckline, and I’m currently making my fifth. ( I will soon have caught up with you, though).

Leave a Reply

