Apronalong- Vogue 8740

 

 

 

I was very happy when Karen set up the Apronalong, as my old pinny inherited from my late mum is cracking up ( it’s a plastic coated one). I found this Vogue 8740 pattern at half price, and I really liked view E, with the contrast fabric waistband and yoke. I made size M, but I should really have made the S as the top is a bit baggy.

It was pretty easy to put together, and I’m quite proud of the way I matched up the pattern on the pockets. I bought the fabric at the Knitting and Stitching Show, it’s by Makower.

I bound the edges with red bias binding, as I didn’t have enough fabric to make self binding. I would have preferred blue, but I haven’t got a local supplier so bought red as you can’t match blue on a monitor! I wish I had got narrower binding; it would have given a neater finish than I achieved.

As you can see from the top photo, I have not styled this item at all! I’m wearing the things I normally cook in, am not wearing any makeup either. I did brush my hair though. I wish I’d cleaned the cooker!

I had enough fabric left over to make a pair of oven gloves; my present set are in rags (why don’t we replace these items regularly?). Looking on the web it seemed all that was required was to trace around your hand, allow about 3/4″ extra and cut out 8 shapes. I bought some thermal interfacing, cut out some shapes of that as well, and put together two backs and two fronts. I sewed around the outline using a zigzag stitch. You were then supposed to turn them inside out,and there were your oven gloves. Unfortunately I found the numbers of layers made this impossible. So, to salvage the fabric I sewed bias binding all around the edge which covered up the stitching. This made it harder to bind the wrist edge,so it is a bit of a bodge job.

They are not a thing of beauty, but they have an advantage over my present pair, in that they cover up my wrists completely. I have several burn scars on them of varying ages!

Now I know how easy it is to make them, I’ll have another go and see if I can make a neater pair.

Here’s the cake shot! A Christmas Cake from Delia of course.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Pattern Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Apronalong- Vogue 8740

  1. Oh, how utterly lovely! I adore the matching oven gloves. And you’ve baked a Christmas cake! This makes me want to start making a Christmas cake to feed with whisky…

  2. This is an interesting pattern-and oven mitts as well! Good stuff.

  3. macstabby says:

    I love those mitts! Now I’ve got another pattern to track down…

  4. Loving the aprons and the oven mitts.

Leave a Reply

