Burdastyle 5-2012-104 Red lines cotton blouse

This is another make from the May edition of Burdastyle magazine, I really must move onto the September one soon. I wanted a button up blouse with long sleeves, that I could wear buttoned to the neck as is current fashion. I have previously made the short sleeve 5-2102-103 version which turned out reasonably well in spite of my forgetting to make a narrow shoulder adjustment. It was also obvious I should have tried a swayback and added a bit to the hip width.

So, this time I got out the pen, scissors and sellotape and altered the pattern before cutting. I made a 1/2″ narrow shoulder alteration, and added about 1 1/2″ total to the hip width. After reading up on swayback alterations I took about 1/2″ out tapering to nothing at the side seams, added it back to the length, and trued the CB line.

I also lengthened the sleeve to full length from 3/4 as I need the warmth in the autumn/ winter season.

The 104 version has hidden buttonholes behind the front facing which gives a clean look to the front, this looks good when the blouse is buttoned to the top. As usual with Burda, this part of the instructions needs careful reading before proceeding, but it really isn’t that complicated. Just fold in the facing, make the buttonholes, then fold out to the right side, stitch across the top of the facing, turn in and press. The top button was sited a little too far down so the facing doesn’t lie quite flat. After I took the photos I added a clear press fastener which make the collar look much better.

The effect of my alterations is to make it a much closer fitting blouse, but I like it like that.

Here you can see the effect of my swayback alteration.

There are still some wrinkles but I don’t think it’s too bad. If I make this again, I’ll take out a bit more from the small of my back.

The next woven top on my list will be a Sewaholic Alma, and I’m looking forward to trying that pattern out.

 

 

 

 

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Pattern Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Burdastyle 5-2012-104 Red lines cotton blouse

  1. Barbara J says:

    That’s a noticeable difference for not a lot of extra work. The red of the blouse is so vivid and will sure add some lift to your spirits when the dead of winter comes along. Looks lovely with the skirt.

  2. sewbusylizzy says:

    Lovely blouse and your fabric choice is perfect. I’ve made Alma, it’s great, in fact I was walking to work yesterday thinking ‘I must make the Peter Pan collar version’

  3. prttynpnk says:

    Your blouse is lovely- that fabric is great. I don’t have any Sewaholic patterns- I think Alma might change that…

Leave a Reply

