Colette Beignet Skirt- A FO at last!

Finally, I have a finished object to blog about. I’ve been working on this skirt for weeks, as I decided a wool beignet should have bound buttonholes, 12 of them! What was I thinking?

I’m not happy with the final result and will not use the method from my Singer Tailoring book again. The front of the buttonholes looks reasonable, and of course the public will not be scrutinising them closely.

It took several sessions to complete the 12 buttonholes, and they look reasonably even. The trouble began after I assembled the skirt and lining and tried to make the windows in the facing, and sew them to the buttonholes.

The book instructs you to make a slit in the facing, then turn a little hem and stitch it to the buttonhole. I turned on my daylight bulb, put on my glasses, found my magnifying glass, and threaded my smallest sharp needle. Horrible result. I then tried cutting a slit part way and snipping diagonal cuts to the corners and turning in. These are a bit better, but I wouldn’t want them on general view.

Reading further on the web, I see that making little windows with a thin lining fabric gives the best results, but I couldn’t  do that on this skirt as it would have been too hard to manipulate on the sewing machine. If, if I try this again I’ll do them before assembling the skirt.

I could only complete two facings at one sitting before my eyes gave up. After I did six I decided to just sew the buttons through the slits on the bottom six. I only undo six buttons anyway, and you can’t tell when I wear the skirt.

I made the tie belt to go with this skirt, and if I could learn to tie neat bows it would look even smarter. It feels very nice on, and is a shape that suits me. I’ve also learned a valuable lesson, in that I practiced the buttonhole stage of the process, but didn’t try out the facing. If I make a coat this year I will be trying out the entire process on my fabric first.

It’s a nice addition to my winter wardrobe anyway.

In other news, I thought I’d share my latest knitting item.

My family think it’s hilarious and odd. I can’t see it myself, it seems perfectly natural.

 

 

 

 

What’s wrong with a sock for a smartphone? I’ll make a silky cotton one for evening wear of course.

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Pattern Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Colette Beignet Skirt- A FO at last!

  1. SewingElle says:

    Its a lovely skirt and those bound buttonholes look very professional. How dispiriting that the “experts” gave you the wrong advice!

    And of course a beautifully knitted sock is appropriate for a smart phone.

  2. Pella says:

    Nice skirt and great buttonholes!

  3. Kerry says:

    This is really lovely, what a gorgeous blue.

  4. ShanniLoves says:

    Your skirt looks really great! I applaud your patience for all those bound buttonholes!! I’m getting ready to make the Beignet and was considering doing bound buttonholes. I think I’ve decided against it because I just don’t have the patience.

    • Thank you! Actually I’m glad I did it, as the buttonholes are wearing very well. My machine doesn’t make great buttonholes either. Of course only 6 of the buttonholes have the facing done if that’s any incentive!

Leave a Reply

