Burdastyle 05-2012-103 Liberty blouse

 

I haven’t posted for while as life has been hurling things at us lately. I have also been wrestling with my Cambie Dress as the last piece in my 6PAC, and it has been winning. Anyway I put the dress aside, and decided to make a blouse out of a piece of Liberty cotton lawn I bid for on Ebay. I had 1.1m of 135cm wide fabric, and my May edition of Burdastyle had this short sleeved blouse which requires that exact amount.

It has a centre back seam as drafted but I can’t really see why it is necessary, it’s perfectly straight. I cut on the fold instead. Apart from that I made no changes and cut a size 38 with a little more width at the bottom.

 

The blouse has side shaping and large darts on the front and rear piece so it is quite close fitting. Burda’s instructions were reasonably clear so it came together nicely.

The collar is finished off with a bias strip which is sewn down over the collar and blouse raw edges. You can see the Liberty print pattern clearly here. I had forgotten how lovely this lawn is to work with, it presses beautifully and does what it is told!

 

 

 

So here is the blouse on a sultry mediterranean beauty, and I really think mine looks like it! Following on from StephC’s post today  on body image, I didn’t put on tights to photograph my blouse and the blogosphere will just have to put up with my imperfect untanned legs! Having taken so many photos of myself over the last three years I have become more comfortable with my body and just think of it as a different shape to the pattern standard. I draw the line at shorts, however. Also at my age I have become invisible anyway!

It looks good untucked as well.

I think it needs a little more width at the bottom, so if I make this pattern again I will grade out a bit more. I also meant to do a small narrow shoulder alteration, but forgot before I had already cut out the front! It needs a bit taken out to get rid of the fold by the armhole. It’s still perfectly wearable though. It buttons right up to the neck so can be worn in the geeky style.

All in all this is a nice little blouse, and another good pattern from this issue. Next up, a skirt, and then back to the Cambie dress.

 

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Pattern Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Burdastyle 05-2012-103 Liberty blouse

  1. StephC says:

    Mmmm, Liberty Cotton, my favorite. I like this blouse on you, it suits you and it’s super cute with the bright pink skirt. :)

    I just want to say about invisibility… You never know who’s looking up to you. I think there’s a real need for older women that younger women can look up to… I guess I’ve been lucky enough to spend the first years of my marriage/motherhood surrounded by a strong, varied group of older women and I really value their input and good (even the occasional bad) examples of ways to be a woman.

  2. SewingElle says:

    I’d overlooked this pattern. It looks great on you, bare legs and all. It’s true for me too that I am more comfortable with body image after sharing through blogging. Another reason to love the online sewing community!

Leave a Reply

