Sewaholic Minoru Jacket

 

I finished this jacket some weeks ago, and it’s been hanging in the cupboard since then. I didn’t love it all, and wasn’t sure if I would wear it. The experience of making it was not pleasant due to my fabric choice. I’ve already spoken about the ecru drill fabric when I blogged about my Knipmode trousers. The difficulty of topstitching it was multiplied ten fold when I got going on this jacket.

Anyway, I cut out a size 8 as usual with Sewaholic patterns. Reading Tasia’s sewalong posts I thought I would try a triplestitch topstitch, which was a terrible idea. My machine’s triple stitch does not have very long stitch length and it was really hard to keep it going straight over the ribs in the fabric.

I decided to reduce the height of the collar by 1″ as I seem to have a short neck, and this was a wise decision, apart from that I made no other fitting alterations. I couldn’t conceive of a jacket with no pockets, so I decided to use Karen of Didyoumakethat’s pocket pdf. They worked quite well, but I didn’t handstitch them on. I thought that topstitching suited the style of this jacket better.

The pockets are nice and deep but maybe a touch narrow for me. Karen obviously has beautiful dainty hands! I tried the suggested cuff elastic width but they were too wide for me; I cut them about 1 1/2″ narrower.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I lined the jacket with leopard print satin, and did a welt pocket instead of the original patch pockets. I like practising welt pockets, this one was not one of my best though. One day I’ll be able to make one without consulting my sewing books.

 

 

 

 

 

The jacket fits me properly, but I’m not sure it’s going to become a favourite. I like the length though. I should have made it in another colour, it’s a bit dull. I’ll treat it as a wearable muslin.

I like it more now than when I hung it in the cupboard so maybe I will wear it occasionally.

 

 

 

I do plan to make another one, in a waterproof fabric for walking trips. That will have the hood, and side pockets.

 

 

 

About starryfishathome

I'm early retired, living in a village and love to sew, knit, make needlepoint cushions, and nurture my cactus collection. Since I came back to making my own clothes, I've learned so much from other sewists blogs, I thought I should start my own.
This entry was posted in Pattern Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

